Past Award Recipients

Northern Lights Contest Awards

Congratulations to our past Northern Lights contest winners. You have set a high bar for government communications. You push all of us to do better, and we look forward to what future years will bring for each of us.

And congratulations to all who have participated in our contest. Submitting work for peer review signifies your dedication to improving your communications efforts and interest in striving for excellence in your work. Well done!

Special Achievement Awards

Communicator of the Year Award

      • 2017 - Libby Caulum, Minnesota Department of Revenue
      • 2016 - Sergeant John Eastham, Ramsey County Sheriff's Office 
      • 2015 - Scott Pengelly, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
      • 2014 - Kevin Olson, Minnesota National Guard
      • 2013 - Margie Vigoren, City of Plymouth
      • 2012 - Julie Lehr, City of Woodbury
      • 2011 - Tom Conroy, Department of Natural Resources
      • 1988 - Jan Smaby, Host, KTCA "Almanac" public affairs TV program
      • 1987 - Dr. Michael Oserholm, Minnesota Epidemiologist
      • 1986 - Ted Kolderie, senior fellow, U of M Humphrey Institute

(no recipients in the years not listed)

Scott Pengelly Lifetime Achievement Award

MAGC's Lifetime Achievement Award was named in honor and memory of Scott Pengelly in 2017.

      • 2017 - Helen LaFave, City of Plymouth
      • 2015 - Bob Gibbons, Metro Transit
      • 2014 - Buddy Ferguson, Minnesota Department of Health
      • 2012 - Tom Hedges, City of Eagan

(no recipients in the years not listed)

Minnesota Association of Government Communicators | 5775 Wayzata Blvd, Suite 700, PMB #200-016 | St. Louis Park, MN 55416
Phone: 952-237-9258 | Email:

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software