Board Members

Erik Juhl, interim president
Web Coordinator
City of Bloomington
1800 West Old Shakopee Road
Bloomington, MN 55431

Term expires December 2020

Erik’s duties at the City of Bloomington include feeding the city’s social media accounts, managing the external website, providing editing and software training, copy writing, editing, proofing and graphic design. His newsletter designs have earned seven 3CMA Savvy Awards. 

Erik is a strong plain language advocate and serves as one of Bloomington's lead facilitators, guiding coworkers toward shared awareness, consensus building, action planning and strategic planning. 

Erik has a BA in Music and English from St. Olaf College and a Master of Software Systems from the University of St. Thomas. 

Alyssa MacLeod, treasurer
City of Oakdale
1584 Hadley Ave N.
Oakdale, MN 55128

Term expires December 2019

Prior to joining the City of Oakdale in August 2017, Alyssa served in communication management roles for several organizations in the east metro.

Her areas of expertise include graphic design, branding, social media management, photography, community building, and event planning. She holds a bachelor’s degree in design technology and a master’s degree in business administration.

Kaili Braa, CAPM, secretary
Administrative-Communications Coordinator
Dakota County Community Development Agency
1228 Town Centre Drive
Eagan, MN 55123

Term expires December 2019

As part of the administration team at the Dakota County Community Development Agency (CDA), one of Kaili’s many tasks is the coordination of internal and external communications and information, whether on the intranet or agency’s website, or larger initiatives such as events and special projects. In addition, Kaili is the assistant to the executive director and clerk to the CDA Board of Commissioners, and assists with human resources and records management needs.

Kaili has a Bachelor of Science degree from Minnesota State University - Mankato, and two professional certificates from the University of Minnesota: one in communications and one in project management. She also holds a Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) credential through the Project Management Institute (PMI), and has served on the MAGC Fall Conference Committee for two years prior to joining the board.

Carolyn Marinan, past president
Chief Public Relations Officer
Hennepin County
300 South 6th Street
Minneapolis, MN 55487

Term expires December 2020

Carolyn Marinan is the public affairs officer for Hennepin County. She has worked in communications in the county since 1998. Previously Carolyn spent nearly 20 years in television news and promotion at WCCO TV, KSTP TV and KARE 11. She’s done talk radio and produced and hosted a local travel show on TPT. Her numerous awards include a New York Film Festival award, Telly Awards, Best of Gannett and AP. Carolyn serves on the National Association of County Information Officers (NACIO) Board of Directors.

Carolyn graduated from the University of Minnesota with a BA in speech-communication. She remains involved with mentoring students at the University of Minnesota along with being active in the Hennepin University Partnership. She lends her time as well to other worthwhile causes in need of communications and public relations.

Sharon Feiner
Manager of Creative Services
Metro Transit
560 Sixth Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55411

Term expires December 2019

Sharon Feiner leads creative services at Metro Transit, which offers an integrated network of buses, light rail and commuter trains as well as resources for those who carpool, vanpool, walk or bike.

Creative services is responsible for brand development and consistency, social media, web development, publications and print, digital and environmental graphics.  She has nearly 30 years of experience in marketing and communications.

Yvonne Klinnert
Public Information Manager
Washington County
14949 62nd Street North 
P.O. Box 6
Stillwater, Minnesota 55082-0006

Term expires December 2019

Yvonne has served as the Public Information Manager at Washington County since 2009. Previous to this, she was the editor of the Stillwater Courier, and was in a number of positions at Sun Newspapers, including executive editor. Before joining Washington County, her background was in reporting and editing for community newspapers. Yvonne has a masters degree in urban planning and economic development from the Humphrey Institute, University of Minnesota, and a Bachelor of Arts Degree from St. Cloud State University.

Kristi Saksvig
Manager of Communications, Library and Parks & Recreation
Ramsey County

Term expires December 2019

Kristi joined Ramsey County in 2000 with a focus on improving the graphic design of the library’s newsletter and other publications. Since then, Kristi has advanced the communications strategies for all of the department’s public and employee print and electronic communications. She has also helped produce opening events for six of seven library locations as well as promoting and coordinating thousands of on-site programs each year. Currently, Kristi supervises a staff of three who are responsible for leading and developing all communications efforts for the Community & Economic Development, Library, Parks & Recreation, Property Management and Workforce Solutions departments.

Kristi holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Iowa in journalism/mass communication and a degree in visual communication from Brown Institute. She is a current member of MELSA promotions and adult programming teams, and past member of NAGC and Minnesota Women in Marketing and Communication.

Stew Thornley
Health Educator | Drinking Water Protection Station
Minnesota Department of Health
625 N. Robert Street
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975


Term expires December 2020

Stew has been involved in communications for the drinking water program at the Minnesota Department of Health since 1993.  He previously worked in radio announcing as a disc-jockey/sports announcer and as an editor for a weekly trade magazine serving the construction industry.

He speaks and writes books on the side and is an official scorer for Minnesota Twins and Minnesota Timberwolves games.

Minnesota Association of Government Communicators | 5775 Wayzata Blvd, Suite 700, PMB #200-016 | St. Louis Park, MN 55416
Phone: 952-237-9258 | Email:

2019 © Minnesota Association of Government Communicators. All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software